I am not fat

I am 22 years old. I am approximately 5’9″ and somewhere around 150lbs. I am not fat, in fact according to the BMI I am right smack dab in the middle of where I should be. So that said, I have never been plus size. I can however identify with not being happy with how my body looks. I don’t have the perfect body, I am not skinny. I wasn’t skinny before I had Kenna, imagine what my stomach looks like after her. I have curves. I have boobs, I have hips, and I sometimes have a waist. Along with that, I do not have a toned stomach. I hate my stomach, particularly post baby.

Yet, with all of that, you are not going to see me post anywhere that I need to lose weight. I need to diet. I hate my body. I’m fat. Etc etc.

Why is there such a recent surge in people posting about their weight? You need to diet? You need to work out? You want to drop a size? Fine. Do it. Get off the internet, stop bitching about it, and do something. Nothing is going to change by you talking about it and getting sympathy from other people on the interwebz. And if you are going to post about the diet you’re on, and five minutes later post about the chocolate cake you made and ate, don’t turn around and whine about how you gained weight this week.

I will fully admit that I am not doing what I need to do to have a healthier body. I have PKD, I have hypothyroidism (which I am not currently taking medication for), I have a flabby belly, and I am doing nothing about it. But I am not concerned about the number on the scale. I am more concerned with how my clothes fit, how I feel, and how toned my body is. But you can also be damn sure you will never catch me bitching about it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I so agree. There are some people who are blogging and posting about their weight loss, and that’s inspiring and all. But there are so many who keep bitching about how overweight they are and how they want to change it, and I think they do it because oh it makes a good blog post now and then, but if you really want to change your life, do it.

    Reply

  2. I was that way for years. Whiny about my weight before I finally got off my ass and did something about it. Now I only post the major milestones which include fitting into an outfit (not squishing into). DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! *slaps*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

